Aug 08, 2020  
2014-2015 Catalog & Student Handbook 
    
2014-2015 Catalog & Student Handbook [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Expenses and Financial Aid


Expenses

Cleveland State Community College is a state-supported institution that provides services at a reasonable price. To determine the total cost of attending Cleveland State, students should consider both the required fees and their varying personal expenses. Students who feel they cannot afford the cost are urged to contact the Financial Aid Office to inquire about the several forms of assistance for which they may qualify. Payment of fees and tuition may be made at the Athens and Madisonville locations, as well as at the main campus.

Estimated Semester Costs1

Tuition and Regents Online Degree Fees
 

State Residents2    
Tuition per hour $145  
     
Non-State Residents    
Tuition per hour $145  
Out-of-State Tuition per hour $349  

Total per hour

$494  

Regents Online Degree Program

State Residents2    
Per hour  $145  
Online course fee  $44  

Total per hour

 $189  
Non-State Residents    
Per hour  $145  
Online course fee  $44  
Out-of-State tuition  $349  

Total per hour

 $538  

Audit - Same as credit course fees.

Non-Credit - No application fee is required of non-credit students. Course fees may vary. Non-credit fees are nonrefundable except when the course or activity is cancelled by the college.

Registration Fees

Campus Access Fee $12  
International Education Fee $5  
Student Activity Fee $6  
Student  Government Fee $6  
Technology Fee (per semester) max $112.50  

($14.25 Tech fee per credit hour up to 7 hrs. - 8th hr. $12.75)

Special Fees

Returned Check Handling Fee (per check) $30  
Handicapped Parking Area Violations $200  
Late Registration $25  
Student I.D. Replacement $5  
Traffic Fines $25-$50  
Lab Fees - (Additional fees are charged for courses having special lab fees, Lab fees are NOT refundable.)

Art

$35  

Backpacking

$20  

Basic Camping

$20  

Bowling

$35  

CPR Fee

$55  

EMT Malpractice Fee - Fall

$42.70  

EMT Malpractice Fee - Spring

$28.19  

EMT Malpractice Fee - Summer

$14.51  

LET

$150.00  

Math Course - Learning Support

$62.50  

Math Course - Undergraduate

$81.25  

Malpractice Fee - Fall

$10.15  

Malpractice Fee - Spring

$6.71  

Malpractice Fee - Summer

$3.44  

Music Lab - 1 hr

$45  

Music Lab - 2 hrs

$75  

Nursing Course

$30  

Reading Course

$112.50  

Writing Course

$81.25  

Federal Tax Reporting - Form 1098-T

Cleveland State, which has received qualified tuition and related expenses on your behalf, must furnish a 1098-T form to you. You, or the person who may claim you as a dependent, may be able to take either the tuition and fees deduction or claim an education credit on Form 1040 or 1040A for the qualified tuition and related expenses that were actually charged in the tax year. These forms are mailed out before January 31. For additional information, please contact the Business Office at (423) 472-7141, ext. 394.

1All fees are subject to change by the Tennessee Board of Regents.

2Students are classified as resident or non-resident by the Office of Admissions and Records for the purpose of assessing tuition charges. The definition of residency as determined by the Tennessee Board of Regents will apply. A student once classified as an out-of-state student will continue to be thus classified unless a change of legal residence is established by evidence other than presence as a student. The burden of proof of all conditions pertaining to residence is placed upon the student, including the responsibility for submission of such documentary substantiation as required by the college. If there is any question as to in-state residency at the time of registration, the student will be classified as out-of-state and will be charged out-of-state tuition. The out-of-state tuition for that semester will be refunded only if the student submits the required documentation within three weeks after regular registration. Information about residence classification may be obtained from the Office of Admissions and Records. Students have the right to appeal the assignment of residency status to the Director of Admissions and Records.

Disabled and Senior Citizens

Disabled persons suffering from a permanent total disability which totally incapacitates such persons from working at an occupation with an income and persons 65 years of age or older who reside in Tennessee shall pay a maximum fee of $70 per semester. Tennessee residents age 60 or over may audit classes free of tuition and registration fees. Persons who qualify for these designations still must pay the application fee, late fee and lab fees. Disability students must turn in an affidavit or certificate from a physician or an agency charged with compensating the disabled person or adjudicating the permanent total disability of the person who is requesting admittance to the classes, that such person is permanently totally disabled as set forth herein. A student who is receiving services under federal or state vocational rehabilitation programs is not eligible for a waiver of tuition and fee benefits under this section. The above provisions are dependent on sufficient fee enrollment and space availability. Availability of space will be determined at the first class meeting. Limitations to available space are most likely to occur in laboratory and computer classes. These provisions do not apply to programs covered by special admissions requirements.

Inquiries concerning the admission, registration and other services for disabled students may be addressed to the Advising, Counseling, Career Enhancement, Student Success (ACCESS) Center in the George L. Mathis Student Center, Room U-118, Cleveland, Tennessee; or by calling (423) 472-7141, ext. 217.

Vietnam Conflict Veterans Dependents

All tuition, registration and other fees are waived for the children of Vietnam conflict veterans if the conflict veteran died while serving in Vietnam or as a result of injury sustained while serving in Vietnam or was officially declared missing in action or declared a prisoner of war in Vietnam. Special age and residency requirements must be met. Documented evidence will be required.

Veterans Affairs Deferment Eligibility

Eligibility for Deferment of Payment of Tuition and Fees by Certain Eligible Students Receiving U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or Other Governmentally Funded Educational Assistance Benefits

Service members, veterans and dependents of veterans who are eligible beneficiaries of U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs education benefits or other governmentally funded educational assistance, subject to the conditions and guidelines set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated § 49-7-104 as amended, may elect, upon formal application, to defer payment of required tuition and fees until the final day of the term for which the deferment has been requested.

Application for the deferment must be made no later than 14 days after the beginning of the term. Students who have been granted deferments are expected to make timely payments on their outstanding tuition and fees balance once education benefits are being delivered and eligibility for such deferment shall terminate if the student fails to abide by any applicable rule or regulation or to act in good faith in making timely payments. This notice is published pursuant to Public Chapter 279, Acts of 2003, effective July 1, 2003.

Higher Education Employees - Public Chapter 191

Full-time employees of the Tennessee Board of Regents and the University of Tennessee are eligible to enroll, on a space-available basis, in one credit class per term without payment of tuition or registration fees. Information on this program is available from the Personnel Office. An application for Waiver of Fees - Public Chapter 191 (fully executed by the employing institution) must be presented at the time of fee payment. Registration for a course under this program is allowed only during the late registration period. A fee discount form must be submitted each semester.

State Employee Fee Waiver Program

Full-time employees of the State of Tennessee executive, judicial or legislative branches are eligible to enroll, on a space-available basis, in one credit course per term without paying tuition or registration fees. At the time of enrollment, the state employee must present a completed “Public Higher Education Fee Waiver for Employees of the State of Tennessee” form certifying that the applicant is a full-time employee with at least six months continuous service. Registration for a course under this program is allowed only during the late registration period. A fee discount form must be submitted each semester.

Fee Discount Program for Spouses and Dependent Children of TBR Employee

Spouses and dependent children age 26 and under of certain retired employees and regular employees of Tennessee Board of Regents institutions who have been employed for at least one continuous year and work at least one-half time are eligible for up to a 50-percent discount on tuition and registration fees. The amount of the tuition and registration fees discount is 50 percent for full-time employees. Spouses and dependent children of part-time employees will receive a pro-rata portion of the 50-percent tuition and registration fees discount based on the employee’s percentage of work effort. This program is applicable only to undergraduate credit courses. Certain special conditions must be met to quality for this program. Information on the program is available from the Personnel Office. A Request for Fee Discount for Spouse and/or Dependent form (fully executed by the employing institution) must be presented at the time of fee payment. A fee discount form must be submitted each semester.

Fee Discount Program for Spouses and Dependent Children of University of Tennessee Employees

Spouses and dependent children age 26 and under of certain retired employees and regular employees of University of Tennessee institutions who have been employed for at least one continuous year and work at least one-half time are eligible for up to a 50-percent discount on tuition fees. The amount of the tuition fee discount is 50-percent for full-time employees. Spouses and dependent children of part-time employees will receive a pro-rata portion of the 50-percent tuition-fee discount based on the employee’s percentage of work effort. This program is applicable only to undergraduate credit courses. Certain special conditions must be met to quality for this program. Information on the program is available from the Personnel Office. A Request for Fee Discount for Spouse and/or Dependent form (fully executed by the employing institution) must be presented at the time of fee payment. A fee discount form must be submitted each semester.

Fee Discount Program for Children of Certified Public School Teachers and for Children of State Employees

Children under the age of 24 whose parent (1) is employed as a full-time licensed teacher in any public school in Tennessee or a full-time employee of the State of Tennessee, (2) is a retired employee of the State of Tennessee who retired after a minimum of 25 years of full-time creditable service, (3) was killed in the line of duty while a full-time employee of the State of Tennessee or (4) died while a full-time employee, though not “in the line of duty,” are eligible for a 25-percent discount on undergraduate tuition fees. At the time of fee payment, the student must present a completed “Public Higher Education Fee Discount for Children of Certified Public School Teachers and Children of State Employees” form certifying eligibility for the program. A fee discount form must be submitted each semester.

Fee Discounts do not apply to Continuing Education Courses.

Books and Supplies

The cost of books and supplies varies each term and from one program of study to another. In courses requiring special instruments, a one-time cost factor must be considered. Used books will be purchased by the bookstore according to current policies available in the bookstore.

The bookstore operation is a contracted service and students should become familiar with the policies of the bookstore management regarding returns and refunds in the event of canceled classes.

Business Regulations

  1. All fees are payable at the time of registration each term. Registration is not complete until all fees are paid (including checks clearing the banks) or when the initial payment due under the deferred payment plan has been paid. No partial payment of fees will be accepted unless the student is under the Deferred Payment Plan.
  2. Students not honoring returned checks within 10 calendar days after notification by the Business Office will be dropped from college enrollment within five working days (TBR Guideline B-010).
  3. No student may continue class attendance, reenroll, graduate or receive a transcript or grades until all financial obligations are met.
  4. All accounts are subject to audit and any errors will be corrected by refund or additional charge.
  5. Fees may only be received by personnel of the Business Office or authorized representatives of that office.
  6. Checks for college fees are payable to Cleveland State Community College and are permissible only in the amounts of the assessed fees.
  7. Refund policy: Special fees are non-refundable. See Plans 1, 2 and 3 below.
  8. All fees are subject to change without notice.
  9. Any debts or obligations owed the college will automatically be deducted from refunds, financial aid (within Federal Guidelines) or scholarships before payment is made to a student.

Deferred Payment Plan

The Deferred Payment Plan allows you to pay your tuition in installments (some restrictions apply).

Payment options:

  • ACH Pre-authorized
  • Checking
  • Savings
  • Credit
  • Four-Payment Option (No fee to participate): Student pays tuition and fees in four equal payments: 25% upon registration, Second payment made following month on the 5th, Third payment made on month 3 on the 5th, Fourth and final payment made in 4th month on the 5th.
  • Three-Payment Option (No fee to participate): Student required to make a down payment of half (50%) of tuition and fees plus $20 enrollment fee, Second payment (half of remaining balance - 25%) is due on the 5th of the following month, Third and final payment (25%) due in month 3 on the 5th.

Returned payments for non-sufficient funds will be charfed $30 NSF and plan will be terminated.

Other requirements:

  • A current minimum balance of $100 after application of financial aid, fee waivers, fee discounts and scholarships and initial first payment.
  • Prior semester charges and fines are not deferrable.
  • Withdrawals from classes will not alter any remaining balance due except to the extent that any refund may be applied to the student’s account.
  • Deferred Payment Plan cannot be applied to summer terms.

Outstanding deferred payment balances will be deducted from refunds, financial aid, scholarships or any other awards a student may receive after going on the deferred payment plan regardless of the due date.

Refund Plan

General Refund Plan - Cleveland State will refund a portion of the tuition, technology fee and out-of-state tuition to any student who officially drops, withdraws or is dismissed from a course(s) within the drop/withdrawal deadline. Official withdrawal date for calculating refunds will be based on the date the withdrawal form is received in the Office of Admissions and Records or the student drop on the Web. Refunds are disbursed at the end of the refund period and will be mailed. Refund amounts will be calculated per the following provisions:

  1. One-hundred percent of tuition and other registration fees will be refunded for classes canceled by the institution.
  2. One-hundred percent of tuition and other registration fees will be refunded for withdrawals processed prior to the first day of classes.
  3. One-hundred percent of tuition and other registration fees will be refunded in case of death of a student.
  4. The fee adjustment for withdrawals or drops during regular terms (fall and spring) is 75-percent from the first day of classes through the 14th calendar day of classes and then reduced to 25-percent for a period of time, which extends 25-percent of the length of the term. There is no fee adjustment after the 25-percent period ends. Students enrolling in more than a full-time course load receive the benefit of additional course work at no additional cost. Dropping or withdrawing from classes during either the 75-percent or the 25-percent fee-adjustment period will result in a fee adjustment of assessed maintenance fees based on the total credit hours of the final student enrollment.
  5. For summer sessions and other short terms, the 75-percent fee adjustment period and the 25-percent fee adjustment period will extend a length of time which is the same proportion of the term as the 75-percent and 25-percent periods are of the regular terms.
  6. A full refund (100-percent) is provided to students who are compelled by Cleveland State to withdraw when it is determined that through Cleveland State error they were academically ineligible for enrollment or were not properly admitted to enroll for the course(s) being dropped. In each case, an appropriate official must certify in writing that the provision is applicable.
  7. When courses are included in a regular term’s registration process for administrative convenience, but the course does not begin until later in the term, the 75-percent/25-percent fee-adjustment periods will be based on the particular course’s beginning and ending dates. This provision does not apply to classes during the fall or spring terms which may meet only once per week. Those courses will follow the same refund dates as other regular courses for the term.

The fee adjustment is calculated as the difference between (1) the cost of originally enrolled hours and (2) the per credit hour cost of the courses at final enrollment after adjustments have been applied for all courses dropped. Adjustments are calculated at the full-per-credit-hour rate less the fee-adjustment credit at the applicable fee-adjustment percentage (regardless of the original number of hours enrolled) with total costs not to exceed full-time tuition. For students dropping courses resulting in a change from full-time status to part-time status, a fee adjustment in the tuition and fees will result only if the new calculated charges are less than the original charges. Not all drops/withdrawals will result in a fee adjustment.

Financial Aid

The student financial aid program at Cleveland State Community College is designed to aid students who would find it difficult or impossible to attend college without financial assistance. Cleveland State Community College offers a comprehensive program of financial aid in the form of scholarships, part-time employment, grants and loans. Major emphasis is placed upon the student’s financial need and academic achievement. Students may apply for one type or a combination of the types of financial aid available. The office of Financial Aid communicates electronically with all students via email and/or their CougarNet account. This includes award notifications, scholarship awards and all other information.

The basis of determining the need of a student will be an analysis of the financial status of the student’s and/ or the parents’ income, provided by completing a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) from the U.S. Department of Education. This application is available online at www.FAFSA.gov or by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID.

Eligibility for financial aid is based on financial need, availability of funds and ability to maintain satisfactory academic progress. To qualify, a student must:

  1. Submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) to determine financial need.
  2. Submit verifying documents as requested by the Financial Aid Office.
  3. Be accepted for admission or currently attending Cleveland State and enrolled in an approved certificate, degree or transfer program.
  4. Mid-year transfers must provide transcripts from prior schools.
  5. Meet Cleveland State’s satisfactory academic progress standards for financial aid recipients.

A student is encouraged to apply early for financial aid. He/she must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the FAFSA Renewal Application as soon as possible after January 1 to ensure that the Financial Aid Office receives the Institutional Student Information Record and other documents prior to the priority deadline. July 25 is the priority deadline for applying for the fall semester and December 12 for the spring semester. Applications received by these dates will be given first consideration in the allocation of financial aid funds. Applications received after these dates will be accepted and awards made to eligible applicants on a first-come, first-serve basis as long as funds are available.

Although Cleveland State participates in the electronic processing of financial aid applications, we do not encourage a student to wait until the last minute to file, because applications received after the priority deadline will be processed only as time allows. The student may be required to pay for tuition and fees and then be reimbursed at a later date if he/she qualifies for financial assistance.

Financial Aid Appeals

A student placed on financial aid suspension may appeal that decision to the Financial Aid Appeals Committee. The appeal must be prepared in writing and be accompanied by appropriate supporting documents. The decision of the appeals commitee is final. Appeals are due May 1st for summer semester, July 1st for fall and December 1st for spring.

A student may make a maximum of one appeal per fiscal year (July 1 - June 30). If the appeal is granted, the student is placed on financial aid probation for the subsequent semester. Failure to meet the academic standards again will result in the student being placed on financial aid suspension. If a student is placed on suspension after an appeal was approved, the student cannot appeal and loses all financial aid eligibility.

Title IV Programs

Several federally funded aid programs are grouped within the general designation of Title IV. These include Federal Pell Grants, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, Federal Student Loans and Federal Work Study. Each is described in this section following a brief presentation of rules and regulations applying to the Title IV aid programs.

Types of Title IV Aid

Federal Pell Grants

The Federal Pell Grant is a program designed to provide financial assistance to those who need it to attend post-high school educational institutions. These grants are intended to be the foundation of a financial aid package and may be combined with other forms of aid in order to meet the full cost of education. A student must first be determined eligible or ineligible for a Federal Pell Grant before consideration is given for other aid. The amount of a Federal Pell Grant is determined on the basis of a student’s personal and family financial resources.

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants

The Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant is for undergraduate students with exceptional financial need, who have the lowest Expected Family Contribution (EFCs); priority is given to Federal Pell Grant recipients. An FSEOG does not have to be paid back.

Direct Loan Program

The Federal Direct Loan program includes both Direct and PLUS Loans. The Direct and PLUS Loans are sources of financial assistance offered by the U.S. Department of Education to help defray the cost of higher education. Direct Loans consist of Subsidized and Unsubsidized loans.

Federal Direct Subsidized Loans are available to students who demonstrate financial need for a loan. A student must first be determined eligible or ineligible for a Federal Pell Grant before an application for the Federal Direct Subsidized Loan is approved.

Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loans are not awarded on the basis of need. Interest is charged from the time the loan is disbursed until it is paid in full. If interest is allowed to accumulate, it will be capitalized-that is interest will be added to the principal amount of the loan and additional interest will be based upon the higher amount.

Loans must be repaid. Repayment normally begins six months after graduation, withdrawal or enrollment at less than half-time status. The interest rate on Federal Direct Loans varies. You may check the rates at studentloans.gov.

Information on the Federal Direct Loan Program may be obtained at the Financial Aid Office at Cleveland State Community College.

Federal Parent Loans for Undergraduate Students

Federal Direct Plus Loans are available to parents of dependent undergraduate students who enroll at least half-time who do not qualify for Federal Direct Loans or who need additional financial aid. Repayment normally begins 60 days after the loan is fully disbursed. The interest rate on the Direct Plus Loan is a fixed rate of 6.41% for 2013-141.

Information on the Federal Plus Loan Program may be obtained at the Financial Aid Office at Cleveland State Community College.

1All fees are subject to change by the Tennessee Board of Regents.

Federal Work Study

The Federal Work Study Program provides part-time employment opportunities. To be eligible for Federal Work Study, a student must be accepted or enrolled and be in good standing if currently enrolled. Student eligibility further depends upon need for employment to defray college expenses. Part-time employment is available on campus in such areas as the library, laboratories, maintenance department, and faculty and administration offices. The program also encourages community service work.

Return of Title IV Funds

Applies to Fall, Spring and Summer Semesters

A. Return of Title IV Funds

The Return of Unearned Title IV Aid applies to any student who meets the following criteria:

  1. The student completely withdraws (officially or unofficially) from day or evening classes before 60 percent of the payment period; and
  2. The student received Title IV aid. If a student withdraws on or before the 60 percent point of time of the period of enrollment, calculated using calendar days, a portion of the total of Title IV funds awarded a student (Federal Pell Grant, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant, Federal Perkins Loan, Federal Stafford Loan, Federal Plus Loan, but not Federal Work Study) must be returned according to the provisions of the Higher Education Amendments of 1998. The calculation of the return of these funds may result in the student owing a balance to the college and/or the Federal Government. The amount of Title IV funds returned will depend on the amount of Title IV aid by program that was disbursed for the payment or enrollment period, total amount of Title IV aid that was disbursed plus any Title IV aid that could have been disbursed for the payment or enrollment period, institutional charges for the payment or enrollment period, the percentage of Title IV aid earned and the percentage of Title IV aid unearned.

    The following formula will be used when determining the return of unearned Title IV aid: The number of days completed in the payment period when the student began the withdrawal process calculated as a percentage of the total days in the payment period is the percentage of earned Title IV aid. If a student does not officially notify the institution of his/her withdrawal, 50-percent of the payment period may be used (or the school may choose to use a documented attendance date that is past the 50-percent point). The amount of Title IV aid unearned by the student will be calculated by multiplying the total amount of Title IV aid that was disbursed or could have been disbursed by the percentage unearned.

    The institution will be responsible for the return of unearned tuition and fees. To determine the institution’s responsibility, multiply the total amount of institutional charges for the payment period by the percentage unearned. Compare this result with the amount of Title IV aid unearned; the lesser amount is the unearned Title IV aid for which the school is responsible. The unearned percentage of institutional charges that the school is responsible for is the amount the student owes back to the school. The student’s responsibility is also equal to the total amount of unearned Title IV aid minus the amount paid by the school. If the student’s portion of unearned Title IV aid is a loan, the terms and conditions of the loan take care of the repayment. If the student’s portion of the unearned Title IV aid is a federal grant, the student returns no more than 50-percent of the amount received for the payment period (see example).

    Example: The fall semester consists of 120 calendar days. A student decides to withdraw from the institution on the 12th calendar day of the semester. The student received a $1,500 grant and $300 FSEOG grant. The student fees totaling $650 were deducted from the Title IV funds and the student received a check for $1,150.

Example of Recalculation Formula

12 days/120 days = 10% (earned Title IV aid)
100% - 10% = 90% (unearned Title IV aid)
$1,800 X 90% = $1,620 (Total Title IV aid unearned)
Student fees of $650 x 90% = $585 (Institution’s share of unearned aid)
$1,620 - $585 = $1,035 x 50% = $517.50 (Amount of unearned aid the student must return)

The Institution would refund the Pell grant $585 and the student would owe $517.50 which must be returned to the Pell grant program.

Refunds are credited in the following order:

  1. Federal Unsubsidized Direct Loans
  2. Federal Subsidized Direct Loans
  3. Federal PLUS Loans
  4. Federal Pell Grants
  5. FSEOG
  6. Other Title IV programs

No refund will be made beyond the 25-percent period. No part of the registration and/or tuition will be transferred or carried forward to apply on a subsequent term. One-hundred percent of fees will be refunded for drops or withdrawals prior to but not including the first day of class and in cases where classes are canceled by the college.

B. Students who do not meet the criteria for the Refund of Title IV Funds

If a student withdraws from any day or evening class within 14 calendar days from the first official day of classes (as published in the official academic calendar) or within an equivalent period for shortterm courses, a refund will be made of 75-percent of the registration and/or tuition fees. After these 14 days, the refund drops to 25-percent. Twenty-five percent of the registration and/or tuition fees will be refunded for a period of time which extends 25-percent of the length of the term or within an equivalent period for short-term courses.
Refunds are credited in the following order:

  1. Federal Unsubsidized Direct Loans
  2. Federal Subsidized Direct Loans
  3. Federal PLUS Loans
  4. Federal Pell Grants
  5. FSEOG
  6. Other Title IV programs
  7. Other Federal, State, Private or Institutional Aid

No refund will be made beyond the 25-percent period. No part of the registration and/or tuition will be transferred or carried forward to apply on a subsequent term. One-hundred percent of fees will be refunded for drops or withdrawals prior to but not including the first day of class and in cases where classes are canceled by the college.

C. Drop Refund

If a student drops from any day or evening class within 14 calendar days from the first official day of class (as published in the official academic calendar) or within an equivalent period for short-term courses, a refund will be made of 75-percent. The refund will then be reduced to 25-percent for a period of time, which extends through 25-percent of the length of the term. There is no refund after the 25-percent period ends.
Refunds are credited in the following order:

  1. Federal Unsubsidized Direct Loans
  2. Federal Subsidized Direct Loans
  3. Federal PLUS Loans
  4. Federal Pell Grants
  5. FSEOG
  6. Other Title IV programs
  7. Other Federal, State, Private or Institutional Aid

One-hundred percent of fees will be refunded for drops or withdrawals prior to but not including the first day of class and in cases where classes are canceled by the college.

Refund - Plan 2

Summer Term

The summer term consists of two separate terms of approximately five weeks each. Fees are assessed according to the following:

  1. Summer term fees will be assessed on an hourly basis at the current hourly rate as specified in the estimated semester costs. No part of the payment is refundable unless the student withdraws from classes within the scheduled withdrawal period. (See Refund Plan 1.)
  2. If the student should register for additional hours for the second term, the student would be obligated to pay for these hours at the current hourly rate as in number 1. The maximum per semester will not apply during the summer terms.

Refund - Plan 3

Applies to the first Summer Session and 10-week Evening Classes Simultaneously

If a student who has registered only for the first five-week summer-session day school and also has registered for evening classes, which meet for 10 weeks, withdraws from either day or evening classes, the refund will be figured on the basis of Plan 1.

Returns are credited in the following order:

  1. Federal Unsubsidized Direct Loans
  2. Federal Subsidized Direct Loans
  3. Federal Plus Loans
  4. Pell Grants
  5. FSEOG
  6. Other Title IV programs

The student must return his/her portion of unearned Title IV aid to the institution within 45 days or he/she will be referred to the U.S. Department of Education for collection. The student will remain ineligible to receive future Title IV aid until this obligation is paid in full.

State Grant Program

Tennessee Student Assistance Award (TSAA)

The Tennessee Student Assistance Award assists undergraduates in financing their postsecondary education. Priority is given to Tennessee residents demonstrating financial need.

Other Assistance

Disability Discount, Department of Human Services, State Employee Fee Waiver, State Employee Children Discount, Teacher/Dependent Discount, Veterans Benefits and Vocational Rehabilitation may be other sources of financial assistance for students. Interested persons should check with the local office of these organizations or the Financial Aid Office at Cleveland State.

Award Notification

During the summer, financial aid recipients will be notified as to the types and amounts of financial assistance being offered. Generally, notifications are emailed out on a continuous basis beginning around July 1.

Students meeting the July 25 priority deadline date can expect to receive their notifications prior to the beginning of the fall semester.

Students applying for financial aid for spring and/or summer semesters, who meet the priority deadline dates, can expect to receive their notifications before the beginning of each term. Award noifications are emailed to the students CougarNet account.

Satisfactory Academic Progress Standards1

The Office of Financial Aid monitors undergraduate students after every term for successful completion of SAP standards. For financial aid eligibility, terms are defined as fall, spring, and summer. Students are measured on qualitative and PACE (quantitative) standards. Students may only file one appeal per academic year and have a lifetime maximum of two at Cleveland State Community College (CSCC). Students who fail to meet SAP standards are not eligible for Pell or student loans. Students at CSCC who fail to meet SAP standards can only change their major twice. Students who do not meet GPA standards are ineligible to file an appeal.

QUALITATIVE STANDARDS: 

Measures a student’s quality of performance in terms of GPA, including developmental studies coursework.  A student who does not meet one of the qualitative standards will be placed on financial aid warning for the subsequent term of enrollment.  During the warning semester, a student can still receive federal aid.  A student who meets the qualitative standards while on warning shall be placed back in good standing.  A student who fails to meet the qualitative standards while on warning will be suspended from financial aid for the subsequent term.

Each semester a student must meet the following cumulative GPA standard: 

  Minimum Hours to Total Hours Attempted:   Minimum Required GPA:  
         
  0 - 14.0   1.0  
  14.1 - 26.0   1.4  
  26.1 - 40.0   1.7  
  40.1 - 48.0   1.9  
  48.1 - above   2.0  

 

PACE (QUANTITATIVE) STANDARDS:

You must successfully complete 67-precent of the credits for which you were awarded financial aid as shown in the example below:

CSCC Office of Financial Aid calculates the pace at which you are progressing in your SAP academic plan by dividing the cumulative number of credits you have successfully completed by the cumulative number of credits you have attempted.

Pace= Cumulative number of credits that you have successfully completed
             Cumulative number of credits that you have attempted

Unsatisfactory grades of F, I, W or NP do not count as completed courses but will count as attempted credits.

You must be making progress toward a degree. To quantify academic progress, Cleveland State Community College must set a maximum timeframe in which you are expected to finish a program.

Developmental Studies Maximum Time Limit:

A student can receive federal financial aid for up to 30 attempted semester hours of developmental studies coursework.  Federal aid for a student who has exceeded this maximum will be based on college-level courses only.  This time limit cannot be appealed.

Maximum Time Limit:

A student may receive federal aid until a certificate or an associate’s degree is earned, or the maximum time limit (90 attempted hours) is reached according to the table below.  A student who has reached the maximum attempted hours allowed toward a degree or has earned an associate degree or beyond will be become ineligible for financial aid.  If a student must take additional hours, the student must submit a written appeal to the Financial Aid Appeals Committee. The student must submit a copy of his/her degree works with his/her appeal form.

  Program Length   Minimum Hours Attempted  
         
  25-29 Hours   38 Hours  
  30-37 Hours   45 Hours  
  38-47 Hours   57 Hours  
  48-59 Hours   72 Hours  
  60-65+ Hours   90 Hours  

 

SAP STATUS

Financial Aid Warning Status

For the first occurrence of not meeting SAP standards, you will be placed in a Financial Aid Warning status, which means you are one term away from losing your financial aid eligibility. Your SAP academic plan is at risk! You are still eligible for financial aid; however, should you not meet SAP standards again, your financial aid will be suspended.

Financial Aid Suspension Status

For the second occurrence of not meeting SAP standards, you are immediately placed on Financial Aid Suspension. As long as you are in suspension, you are not eligible for federal financial aid. You may appeal this status. 

REINSTATEMENT OF FINANCIAL AID ELIGIBILITY

If you lose federal aid eligibility because you are not meeting SAP standards, you have the right to file an appeal for financial aid.  CSCC does not allow appeals for failing to maintain GPA.  If your appeal is approved, you will be placed on Financial Aid Probation.  If your appeal is approved with your Financial Aid Academic Plan, you will be on a continuous probation until you regain eligibility or complete the terms of your Financial Aid Academic Plan.

To appeal, you must submit a Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Appeal Form with supporting documentation.  That form provides a non-exhaustive list of circumstances that may give rise to an appeal.  You MUST submit all documents for the appeal by the deadline date.  All appeals require a written statement from the student explaining why he/she failed to meet SAP standards and the steps he/she will take to regain eligibility.

The deadline dates to submit an appeal are listed below:

  Fall Semester: July 1
  Spring Semester: December 1
  Summer Semester: May 1

If you do not submit your appeal by the deadline date, your appeal will be reviewed for the following semester.

It may be required for you to meet with the Financial Aid Appeals Committee.  The Financial Aid Office will notify you of the date and time.  You also have the option to meet with the Appeals Committee.  If you choose to meet with the Appeals Committee, all documents must be submitted to the Office of Financial Aid by the appeal deadline date.

Unofficial Withdrawals

Students who have registered and made payment for classes are officially enrolled. Once enrolled, students who stop attending class and do not officially withdraw from school will receive F’s for the courses and are considered to be “unofficial withdrawals.” Those students will receive a 0.00 GPA for a term.

The federal government will review attendance records of those students for financial aid purposes. The federal position is that the government is entitled to a prorated recovery of federal financial aid funds given to those students based upon the date that is determined to be the last day of attendance. Participating schools are expected to monitor student attendance for the purpose of determining a withdrawal date. To comply with this guideline, instructors must document class attendance in order to verify the last day of attendance for official and unofficial withdrawals.

According to federal guidelines, Title IV funds are awarded to cover educational costs incurred for class attendance in courses registered for during a specified enrollment period. Therefore, if a student withdraws or drops out before his or her first day of class, student financial aid funds may not be used to pay any portion of a student’s educational costs. In conjunction, if a student’s enrollment status changes as a result of dropping a never-attended class, then that student may be subject to a partial Federal Pell Grant repayment. Last date of attendance will be confirmed by the instructor.

Students should be aware that failure to attend all classes registered for in a term or unofficially withdrawing from school could result in their having to repay financial aid funds, thereby, making them ineligible to receive other Title IV assistance until this obligation is paid in full. Unresolved overpayments are reported to the Department of Education.

Transfer Students

Midyear transfer students must submit academic transcripts from previously attended schools.

*All transfer students seeking financial aid are recommended to check with the Financial Aid Office. If transferring in 60 hours or more, it is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED you speak with a Financial Aid Counselor before enrolling.

Enrollment Status

  Financial Aid Requirements      
         
  12 or more Hours   Full Time  
  9, 10, 11   Three-fourth Time  
  6, 7, 8   Half Time  
  Fewer than 6 Hours   Less than Half Time  

 

Institutional Information for Financial Aid Applicants

Facilities of Cleveland State Community College are described in the Introduction to this catalog and various other college publications.

Current and historical data on enrollment, program graduates and job placement are available upon request in the Office of Planning, Research and Effectiveness.

All programs and courses are accessible to persons with disabilities.

Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarship Program (HOPE)

1Eligibility Requirements for 2014 - 15 Academic Year

  • Entering freshmen (High School Class of 2014) who are Tennessee residents for one year prior to application
  • Enroll in a Tennessee public college/university or enroll in a Tennessee private college/university that is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (list available in the Office of Financial Aid) 
  • Apply with the 2014 - 15 Free Application for Federal Student Aid starting January 1 for each academic year (www.fafsa.gov)
  • FAFSA and renewal FAFSA application deadline for Fall - September 1, 2014. Early application recommended. *Deadline for spring is Febuary 1, 2015
  • Full-time enrollment (part-time prorated) - leading to a degree-satisfactory academic progress required
  • Award amounts based on available funding from State Lottery

Tennessee HOPE Scholarship

1Award amount - $6,000 for four-year institutions; $3,000 for two-year institutions (no more than cost of attendance) for students graduating Fall 2009 or later. Graduates of 2008 and prior, see Financial Aid Office.

  • Entering freshmen (High School Class of 2014) must have at least a 21 ACT (890 SAT) or weighted 3.00 GPA.
  • Home school graduates - 21 ACT (980 SAT) and 3.00 GPA.
  • HSE applicants - 525 and 21 ACT (980 SAT).

1Subject to change.

ASPIRE

Award amount - $2,250 (including summer semester) Supplement to Tennessee HOPE Scholarship

  • Meet Tennessee HOPE Scholarship requirements and
  • Parent(s) adjusted gross income (on FAFSA) of $36,000 or less (dependent student) or
  • Student (and spouse) adjusted gross income (on FAFSA) of $36,000 or less (independent student)
  • Student is only eligible to receive Aspire or General Assembly Merit Scholarship, not both.

Tennessee HOPE Access Grant

Award amount-$4,125 for four-year institutions; $2,625 for two-year institutions

  • Entering freshmen must have at least a weighted 2.75 GPA and 18 ACT (890 SAT) and
  • Parent(s) adjusted gross income of $36,000 or less for dependent student or student (and spouse) for independent student
  • Grant non-renewable - will be eligible for Tennessee HOPE Scholarship by meeting HOPE Scholarship renewal criteria at 24 attempted hours

General Assembly Merit Scholarship

Award amount-$1,500 supplement to Tennessee HOPE Scholarship

  • Entering freshmen must have at least a weighted 3.75 GPA and 29 ACT (1280 SAT)

Tennessee HOPE Scholarship Renewal Criteria

  • 2.75 GPA after  24 and 48 attempted hours.
  • 3.00 GPA after 72 attempted hours.
  • Change of enrollment status during a semester may affect your eligibility.
  • Must be continuously enrolled (does not include summer semester).

Cleveland State Community College Scholarships

To apply for scholarships offered by Cleveland State, students must apply for admission and pay the admission application fee. Listed below are some of our available scholarships. All students must apply for scholarships online. The website is clevelandstatecc.academicworks.com.

Institutional Academic Scholarships

Institutional Academic Scholarships are awarded annually to students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement during their high school years. The scholarships cover various award amounts.

  1. GPA requirements range from 3.5 to 2.9 minimum and ACT requirements range from 25 to 19.
  2. Must enroll and maintain a full-time course load. Must also maintain both a minimum 2.5 semester and cumulative grade point average at CSCC.
  3. Students are required to complete a 75-hour work assignment on campus each semester. For more information contact the Financial Aid Office located in the George L. Mathis Student Center.
  4. Priority deadline for the Institutional Academic Scholarships is March 1. Students must apply online for all scholarships offered by Cleveland State.

Access and Diversity Grant

The purpose of the Access and Diversity Grant Program is to enhance the rate of participation, progression and completion in higher education by a diverse population of students. Access and Diversity Grants are awarded on the basis of both need and academic achievement, and can assist students with tuition and fees. In order to qualify, a student must be admitted to the college, have a minimum grade point average of 2.5 from high school or previous college coursework, complete and submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and maintain good academic standing during the time he/she is receiving a grant. The Access and Diversity Grant Program is open to both incoming and continuing students who are enrolled at least half time (6 hours). For more information regarding the Access and Diversity Grant, contact the Financial Aid Office located in the George L. Mathis Student Center.

Important: Read Carefully

  1. The priority deadline for the Access and Diversity Grant is March 1.
  2. You must submit a completed CSCC Application for Admission.
  3. Grants are not available for the summer semester.
  4. Students must apply online for all scholarships.

Athletic Scholarships

Cleveland State offers athletic scholarships in men’s and women’s basketball, women’s softball and men’s baseball for deserving student athletes. Athletic scholarship information is available by contacting the Athletic Office in Room 112 of the L. Quentin Lane Gymnasium.

Valedictorian/Salutatorian Scholarships

All valedictorian and salutatorians in the CSCC service area of Bradley, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe and Polk counties who apply by the priority deadline of March 1 in the year of their graduation from high school will be awarded an Institutional Academic Scholarship. For more information, contact the Financial Aid Office located in the George L. Mathis Student Center.

CSCC Foundation Scholarships

The scholarship program is funded through private gifts from businesses, organizations and individuals. Annual earnings from the invested endowment and proceeds from the annual fund campaign determine the availability and amount of these scholarships. Awards are based on need and academic achievement. Applications and eligibility requirements are available on the Cleveland State site. For more information, contact the Financial Aid Office located in the George L. Mathis Student Center. Minimum GPA 2.5.

Tennessee Scholars Scholarships

The Cleveland State Foundation awards annual scholarships to graduating students from high schools in Bradley, McMinn and Meigs counties who certify as Tennessee Scholars. For more information contact the Financial Aid Office located in the George L. Mathis Student Center.